International Series 2 : Dvorák & Brahms

Soloist – Li-Wei Qin

Saturday 12 August 2017 7:30 pm

Dunedin Town Hall

China-born Li-Wei Qin studied in both Australia and the UK, and now teaches in Singapore. Since his 2004 DSO performance, he has continued to perform with the world’s most prestigious orchestras and musicians.

As a Czech musician in a Germano-centric world, Dvorák career only took off after Brahms’s active encouragement, and it included time in the USA when he composed this Cello Concerto.

Completing this programme under the expert baton of London-based Simon Over is Brahms’s final symphony. From the simplest of materials, it develops into long lines of powerfully emotional yet unsentimental grandeur.

Marking USA composer John Adams’s 70th birthday, the concert opens with his ‘orchestral foxtrot’ from his opera Nixon in China, depicting “a youthful Mao Tse-Tung dancing the foxtrot with his mistress Chiang Ch’ing”.

John Adams: The Chairman Dances
Dvorák: Cello Concerto
Brahms: Symphony No. 4

Simon Over  Conductor
Li-Wei Qin Cello