Covid 19 – update

Notice – 16 September 2021

Owing to the on-going Covid-19 restrictions and the difficulties in identifying a replacement performance date for the ‘Romantic Landscapes’ concert (which was originally planned for 4 September), the DSO has made the sad decision to cancel the concert.  Tickets will be refunded either via Ticketmaster, or the DSO if you are a DSO subscriber.  We know that this is a disappointing outcome for our audiences, but fortunately there is still the DSO’s ‘Russian Rhapsody’ concert on 26 November to look forward to instead. 

Ticketmaster will make every effort to contact all the customers (apart from DSO subscribers) to inform them of the cancellation and the refund process.  Further information about this can be found here:

DSO International Series and Flexi-ticket voucher subscribers will be contacted directly by the DSO.

We appreciate your understanding and support.




FORSYTH BARR Matinée Series 2

Saturday 31 July, 5:00 pm and Sunday 1  August, 3:00 pm
King’s and Queen’s Performing Arts Centre

Subscribe 2021

Concert Series 2021

Bookings for the 2021  Concert Series subscriptions are now open. Please note: Hardcopy Brochures were posted out on 9 April.

We’re delighted to introduce to you our 2021 concerts which celebrate the outstanding talents of our conductors, soloists and players who will energise and enthral you with their creativity and talent and present to you a diversity of musical treasures. Our music promotes our sense of well-being and brings together our community, which is so important in these times when people have been impacted and isolated by the pandemic.

Our conductors and soloists are some of New Zealand’s very best: world-renowned singers including Jonathan Lemalu, Simon O’Neill and leading musicians from the NZSO, the NZ String Quartet and the University of Otago, plus the wonderful City Choir Dunedin.

Our music comes from around the world: New Zealand, Russia, Germany, France, England and the USA, and will transport us from Beethoven’s time through to today. The series opens with a blockbuster symphony: Beethoven’s ‘Ode to Joy’ – his Symphony No. 9 – and the series closes with another thrilling Symphony No. 9, this time by Shostakovich. In the same programme is the beautiful and evocative ‘Elegy’, by NZ composer Leonie Holmes. Other symphonies include masterworks by favourite Romantic composers Schubert and Dvorak.

Some of New Zealand’s very best talent will be joining the orchestra for the series, such as conductors Kenneth Young, Marc Taddei and Hamish McKeich. Leading soloists include NZSO’s Concertmaster Vesa-Matti Leppanen and Principal Cellist Andrew Joyce, NZ String Quartet violinist Monique Lapins and violist Gillian Ansell, and mezzo-soprano Tessa Romano.

Dunedin audiences will also have the chance to see some of NZ’s stunning and exciting up-and-coming talent who are already making their mark on the concert scene: mezzo-soprano Katie Trigg, pianist Sara Lee, and conductor Vincent Hardaker.

All in all, a rich kaleidoscope of musical treasures offering uplifting and inspiring orchestral experiences for everyone.